The Closet Countdown: DAY 100!!!

This is it. The final day of The Closet Countdown. Wow. Lessons learned will be posted soon. So strange how such a “silly” experiment has taught me so much. There are beautiful lessons all around us. We only have to look for them to see how many.

My heart fills with gratitude when I think of all the encouragement I’ve received along the way. Even just the “likes” on days when I thought my outfit was lame or my writing was lame (or both) really lifted my spirits. Thank you to everyone who stopped by along my one hundred day journey. I appreciate it more than I can say.

For the last day, I almost went with my Merrell Lily. But I decided against it because I will probably wear it again soon – regardless of all my new options. It is a tried and true favorite. I went with my super versatile Cameleon Rosy Pink Convertible Skirt/Dress/Poncho instead. There is more to the story on this interesting piece but that is for a different day and a post. Gotta keep it brief (right Nancy? 😉 ).

Day 100 Tuesday, October 8

  • BCG Black Cami
  • Long Black Leggings (forgot the brand)
  • Cameleon Pink Convertible Thing (worn as a poncho in the cooler morning and then as a skirt in the warm afternoon)
  • Merrell Black Barefoot Mary Jane Shoes

20131008-151343.jpg

Today is a light three mile run day for my half marathon training. When I started this, I didn’t know I would “get back into running” so I didn’t choose my running skirt or my leggings with a pocket that fits my phone. Looking forward to little things that that for sure…

Afternoon Run

  • BCG Black Sleeveless Top
  • BCG Black Legging Capris
  • inov8 RocLite268 shoes (with socks)

20131008-165342.jpg

Thank you again for stopping by. I wish you joy and eyes to see the lessons all around you. I encourage you to challenge yourself in some small way. Start with your closet like I did or with something else. Give yourself some boundaries. Dance inside them. Learn. Grow. Shine…

Cheers,
G

 

19 comments

    1. Thank you so much, Lovely Fiona! I do feel like I accomplished something. Growth at least…and a better understanding of my strange love for clothes. 🙂 I love the Cameleon as a skirt too. It doesn’t have any spandex (so no “give”) but as a skirt, it makes me want to twirl. 🙂 Cheers!

      1. Oh my gosh yes I was picturing you twirling!! 🙂 I’ve loved watching your journey xxx & as I’m not particularly inspired by clothes (unless they’re silk) it’s been great fun feeling your inspiration,xxx

      2. Wanna know something kinda crazy (though I doubt you’ll think so…)? I actually tried to take a couple of pictures while twirling in this skirt. I didn’t like them so I didn’t use them. Oh silk…love it. Hate to take care of it. But I love it. 🙂 So glad something I wrote was fun for you. It brightens my heart to know that. Cheers again!

    1. Thank you! It is pretty comfy. It’s a cotton/poly blend so it’s lightweight. I love it as a blanket too. I wish it had a little spandex, though. I might have to “play” with the design someday. If I do, I promise to let you know. 🙂

    1. Thank you!!! I’m super honored that you would stop by and comment (I have such high regard for your blog as you know!). Clothes really are a big deal, aren’t they? You inspire me in that department so much. I look forward to playing in my closet even more with a bend toward the vintage… 🙂 Cheers, awesome lady of vintage fashion!

    1. Thanks! It is pretty practical. More as skirt. As a “poncho” it’s a little bit cumbersome when it comes to working around the house. Too much loose material around my arms. It actually folds up into its own pocket to make a little pillow. It has come in handy on more than one adventure in traveling.

      Thanks on the congrats too! I really appreciate it. You are so sweet to stop by and say that. Hey…the Closet Countdown was Free But Fun. 🙂 It certainly saved me money because I didn’t want to shop. Cheers, awesome Mama!

  1. You did it! The cameleon is definitely an interesting piece. Perhaps too many layers for the climate here, though? It looks like a medium-weight fabric, too?

    1. Thanks! The Cameleon is crazy cool. I got to meet the man who designed it. He wanted to make something that someone could wear in many ways and then use to create a shelter. His theory is that you could survive comfortably (it also turns into a bag if needed) with a few Cameleons. Men and women. I really enjoyed talking with him at a Medieval festival I attended last Spring. It is actually a fairly lightweight cotton/poly blend. Dries quickly and feels comfy. Of course, my favorite part is the versatility…;)

      Thanks for rooting for me all along the way. You are awesome. Cheers!!!

  2. Congratulations Ginny! It’s funny how when we start a project we think we know how it’s going to go, but then when we get to the end, we’re someplace else. It’s not a bad thing!

    1. Thank you, Sweet Katy! I agree on the unexpected outcomes. It’s like writing…you never know where you’ll end up but as long as you just begin, you’ll find an adventure. 🙂

      You rock for stopping by. Thanks again. Cheers!

    1. Thanks, Rose Who Rocks! I did enjoy my run…got lost in my head daydreaming about pajamas. 😛

      Not sure where I’m headed next. Gotta get my bearings for a bit and then plan another adventure. 🙂 Thank you for cheering me on during this crazy experiment. I treasure every comment and “like”. 🙂

      Cheers!

    1. Thanks my Sole Soul Sistah. All I need is a few more hours in the day to write all that is in my heart…:) I’ll do my best to get it out in bits and pieces. I learned so much. It’s exciting. 🙂

      Thank you for being there all along the way. Your constant encouragement meant more to me than I could ever express.

      Cheers!

Comments are closed.