The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #10

20130909-060751.jpgHello and welcome to my tenth weekly update for The Closet Countdown. Only thirty days left. I used all my morning sunshine (and time) to take pictures for my Sarong Series (Tied Long Skirt, Tied Short Skirt, and Waist Tied Shawl) instead of taking pictures of my daily outfit.

That’s not entirely true.

I did take pictures for the Sarong Series (more coming up this week!) but the truth is that I’m just a little burned out on the whole Closet Countdown deal. The honeymoon is quite over. The magic of this experiment in minimalism has faded.

Strangely enough, this is where I get excited about the process. It means I’ve found that place where I want to quit. Not just make a few modifications. But just end this whole, silly experiment.

Words that have haunted me most of my life start to trickle into my thoughts…

That’s when I know it’s about to get really good. While this may be a silly experiment, it’s my silly experiment. When I’m not grumpy about it, I’m learning so much. I’ve been able to “get by” on the same 55 items of clothing for seventy days. That’s a big deal for me. I’m not going to quit.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I put on my leggings and my Lily dress, strapped on my ever-faithful (and sadly discontinued) Merrell Brown San Remo sandals, and decided to rock the next thirty days of The Closet Countdown.

(Pictures will resume next week.)

Thank you. Thank you so much for reading this. Though this part of my path is a little rough, the fact that you are here this makes it easier to bear.

Cheers,

G

To see pictures from previous weeks, please got to The Closet Countdown Page.

16 comments

  1. And once again I feel completely connected to you, reading your frustration with the process this past week. Have a look at this morning’s post summarizing my last week’s workout efforts. It’s kinda creepy that we’re so in synch. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Carry on San-Remo-wearing-sole-sister.

    1. It is pretty weird. And awesome. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I totally went off on you in the comments of your post. Couldn’t help it. You totally rock.

      I promise to keep on keepin’ on if you will, Sole Sister!!!

  2. I love it and you’re so right! There’s this bit you really have to push through, and it’s the bit that comes just before genuine change. You’re not living on the buzz any more, so you have to dig deeper and find something that will make it stick. I’m not good at this myself, but I recognise it happening in others when I see it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Plow on!

    1. Thanks so much, Lovely B! “You are not living the buzz any more.” That’s a great way to put it… Thank you for your encouragement. It means a lot to me.

      I’m still totally loving the hat by the way. It’s perfect!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The darkest moment is before the dawn – hang in there!! I think B (above) is right – this is the moment before genuine change. I am following every step of your minimalist journey and I am learning from you just as much as from my own!

    1. Oh thank you, Rose! This means so much to me. I promise to hang in there with my silly (but not really) experiment. Your sweet words of encouragement keep me going. It’s so nice to know that I’m not alone on this journey… Thanks again, Rose Who Rocks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I really appreciate how honest you are about what you’re really feeling. Thanks for that. That keeps the whole process REAL…not just for you, but for the folks who read you. Can’t you feel how enthusiastic we are? Can you feel it? It’s good being able to follow your journey. Can’t help but feel we are learning a little more about ourselves and about simplifying our lives in some ways. Clothes are SUCH a big deal, and if we can get our minds around wanting something better for ourselves (something lasting and meaningful…not just riding the wave of the next trend!), we can move forward with new passion for positive change. But we’ve got to realize that it takes time and consistency. It takes just hanging in — even when we don’t feel like it. Anyway, I’m quite proud of you. Proud of where you’ve come from and proud of where you’re going. Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Oh, sweet, wonderful woman…I cried when I read this last night. And I got a little choked up this morning when I read it again. Many of the things you said will stay with me for a long, long time. Thank you. Thank you from the bottom of my small-but-growing heart. I’m honored, humbled, and encouraged by your words. In a big way.

      When I’m not bogged down in the mire of self doubt, I do feel your enthusiasm. I had never thought of it that way but I do feel it. Honestly, it is a strange and beautifully unexpected part of blogging for me.

      Here’s the part that got me: “Clothes are SUCH a big deal, and if we can get our minds around wanting something better for ourselves (something lasting and meaningfulโ€ฆnot just riding the wave of the next trend!), we can move forward with new passion for positive change. But weโ€™ve got to realize that it takes time and consistency.”

      The more I “give myself permission” and the more people (like you!) who encourage me to explore the topic of clothes – not just clothes but the function and psychology of clothes and style and fashion – the more I want to dig deeper. There really is so much science to why we wear what we wear. I thought it was just a “first world” issue but as I learn and grow, I see that clothes have mattered to humans for a long time. Even in more primitive cultures there are colorful beads or feathers. We decorate ourselves to express something we need others to know.

      The internal side matters too. Our truest beauty is inside. That light that calls us to be kinder and make a difference in our world. That’s what really makes us stand out and shine. Without it, the clothes almost don’t matter.

      Then this brings me full circle to my simplicity quest. If I don’t simplify my life by eliminating what I don’t need then I don’t have time to think about my passion. It is a beautiful, synergistic thing.

      With a few words, you have given my heart such wings. THANK YOU for this. I’m encouraged more than ever to explore and dream and grow…

  5. Hi Ginny,

    It’s been far too long since I commented on your blog; I’ve been taking the luxury route of reading your posts through the email updates & keeping aside the ones I want to re-read ๐Ÿ™‚
    I read the top of this post, and thought “No, Ginny can’t quit!” I felt really strongly about it! And I read on, and I realised that you had reached a point where you needed to scrounge the motivation to continue on, from somewhere.

    If it’s motivation from Robert Frost, then all the better! I absorbed his words in high school with such delight, and in important moments in my life, I hear his wise words and beautiful phrasing repeat in my consciousness. I will always be grateful that I was introduced to his fine work. And Two Roads Diverged in a Yellow Wood is a mighty fine example of that.

    I’m really proud of your experiment Ginny, truly – from the other side of the world! I’ve loved reading about your simple plan, and all of the beautiful insights that it’s provided you. And you’ve posted on those days when you didn’t want to, and weren’t sure what the point of it all was, and you’ve articulated those tough emotional moments – you’ve been so honest. You’ve inspired me – I seem to blog only when I’ve made a breakthrough. But, it’s those moments of doubt that are so defining. I look forward to your summary of what this journey has meant to you (when it’s all said and done) ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Oh Kate! How I love your comments (and your writing!)… I’m quite overwhelmed by the responses I’ve received to what I considered a pretty lame post. Weak in so many ways – writing, subject, attitude. The unexpected encouragement has filled my heart with light. Your sweet words just make it that much brighter. Thank you.

    I do love frost. For a few years, I did some promotions for large trade show. I basically went to other, similar trade shows around the U.S. and advertised our show to vendors. It was a lot of long hours. Loved that job but it was a huge time commitment. At that time, I fell in love with Frost’s “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”. I printed this quote and I have it on my desk today:

    “The woods are lovely, dark, and deep
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.”

    I admire the art of his writing so much…

    Your last paragraph really touched me. To have people (especially a writer I admire on the other side of the world) say they are proud of me is a big deal. It means more to me than I could ever express that you like to read what I write. I can hardly take it in. It’s like my heart feels too small to hold so much gratitude. Thank you for your encouragement.

    Looking forward to your next post… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. Gosh, it’s so lovely to connect, isn’t it? Especially through writing. I find it such a personal thing to share – the thought process inside my head. I’m sure you feel the same way – and to have people respond to your writing can, as you say, make your heart soar. It’s the same for me. What a joy! You’ve really welcomed me into the blog community, and encouraged me – and I’m so grateful for you! And I so look forward to your newest musings.
    PS after the Frost discussion in your post and my reply – I wanted to include it in my latest post!!

    1. It IS lovely to connect. And yes, I do feel the same way about writing and putting it out there. It’s a big deal to have people respond with so much warmth.

      It’s been one of those “long” days. To read that I’ve welcomed you and encouraged you made my burdens seem a little lighter. It’s who I want to be and I’m glad I am that at least sometimes. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I saw your post! Running behind on my blog comments but I will leave one there soon. Promise.

      Thank you for your sweet words. We really have no idea how valuable they are until we receive them at just the right moment…

      Cheers from the other side of the world!

    1. Thank you, Fiona!!! I’m in the process of writing this week’s update and I needed this. “after all, a true experiment can never really fail anyway.” Perfect. Just perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cheers!

      1. Utterly my pleasure my dear ๐Ÿ™‚ I am after all supposed to lend my voice over to the world of spirit and inspiration ๐Ÿ˜‰ xxx

Comments are closed.