Sarong Series: Waist Tied Shawl

20130905-145723.jpgHello! Welcome to My Simplicity Quest and another mini tutorial on my Sarong Series! I love experimenting with ways to improve my minimalist style closet with versatile items. After posting pictures of my daily outfits in The Closet Countdown I received a few requests to share how I wear my sarong. The pictures and step by step instructions are my response.

I’m so glad you are here! I hope you learn something new and walk away with sunshine in your heart and a strange desire to go play with a super versatile, functional, and fun sarong! (you know you have one buried in your closet somewhere!)

Please scroll to the bottom of this page to find links to other mini-tutorials in the Sarong Series. 🙂

Let’s go ahead and get into Sarong Series: Waist Tied Shawl*. I wore leggings and a plain black t shirt to show off the sarong. However, when I’m out in the real world (and not my back porch) I think this style goes over flowy black pants nicely. I love how it can go from a skirt to a shawl in a matter of seconds.

20130904-060616.jpg

Step One:
Begin with the Tied Long Skirt. (My example uses a side tie but you may also use a front tie for the Waist Tied Shawl.)

20130905-144935.jpgStep Two:
Pick up lower corners of the sarong in each hand.

20130905-145233.jpgStep Three:
Holding onto the bottom corners (and leaving knot at waist in place), pull bottom hem up and over your back…

20130905-145257.jpgStep Four:
…Until it rests on your shoulders.

20130905-145328.jpgStep Five:
Fold arms and feel the snugly softness of your awesome waist tied sarong! I love the way it drapes and the look of the tie at the waist. So feminine!

If you’d like to see some other examples of how I wear my sarong, don’t forget that there are more pictures on The Closet Countdown Page.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you found the Sarong Series: Waist Tied Shawl easy to follow. Please let me know if you have any questions in the comments below. I’m super happy to help!

Cheers,

G

*Most of the ways to wear a sarong in my Sarong Series are creative but also quite easy. Some of them require a foundation method first. For the Waist Tied Shawl (and the Tied Short Skirt), you need to start with a Long Tied Skirt. If you would like to see how I do it, please go to Sarong Series: Tied Long Skirt.

Other Sarong Series Posts:

14 comments

  1. Yay…I’m the first to like this! This has been a really busy week, and I’ve not gotten a chance to blog as much as I wanted to, so now the week is nearly behind me and I’m sitting down with my coffee ready to read YOU! You can imagine how pleased I was to see this post! It sure looks like you took a lot of time to do this series (I have to go back and re-read all the ones I’ve missed); I can’t tell you how much this means to me that you took the time with easy to follow tutorials and photos to show us how to look feminine and beautiful in a simple and practical way. Can’t wait to try these…thank you so much!!

    1. I know all about the busy week thing. So honored that my blog is one you look forward to reading! Can’t even tell you how much that warms my heart. I so appreciate your kind comments (as always – you are so sweet!). It was certainly a labor of love (with a big emphasis on the love – I really do love doing stuff like this). It’s been a dream of mine for a long time and having such wonderful, encouraging folks in my path like you was the fire I needed to get glowing and make it come true. Thank YOU for reading and encouraging me in my quest. Cheers, Precious Poetess!

  2. Ahhhh, now that is a good idea. I’d never thought of tying it when I it was over my shoulders before. Thank you!!!

    1. Thanks, Anne-Marie! Genius? Thanks again! Please let me know how it works out for you. I so love sarongs (obviously!) Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a comment. It is such an honor. Cheers, Creative Lady ;)!

    1. Aww. I’m blushing. And beaming. Brilliant? Cool! I’m a total nut when it comes to figuring out new ways to wear a big piece of lightweight cloth. I think it’s because I’m just a total nut. Oh well, I’m having a blast. Many thanks for your sweet comment, Sole Sister of Sweat (good one, huh?). 🙂

Comments are closed.