Sarong Series: Tied Short Skirt

20130905-145738.jpgBefore we begin, I want to thank you for stopping by. Writing about and creating a versatile, functional (yet fun and stylish) minimalist closet stand as my current passions in life. Figuring out different ways to wear a sarong or scarf or how to wear one dress three different ways makes me happy. I hope you sense my joy and gratitude from wherever you are!

Let’s get started with the Sarong Series: Tied Short Skirt. (Make sure to read the entire article. There’s a surprise bonus to this fun little design!). I like wearing it this way because the shorter length makes it easier for me to move around throughout my day. I find stairs to be a bit problematic when I wear long skirts…

Most of the ways to wear a sarong in my Sarong Series are creative but also quite easy. Some of them require a foundation method first. For the Tied Short Skirt, you need to start with a Long Tied Skirt. If you would like to see how I do it, please go to Sarong Series: Tied Long Skirt.

20130904-060616.jpg

Step One:
Begin with the Tied Long Skirt. (My example uses a side tie but you may also use a front tie for the Tied Short Skirt.)

20130905-144935.jpgStep Two:
Pick up lower corners of the sarong in each hand.

20130905-144958.jpgStep Three:
Pull bottom hem over bum and tie corners just below previous knot. This creates an understated “balloon style” hem.

20130905-145023.jpgStep Four:
Tie again and you are all done! I love the double stacked knots. Because of the thin material, they are small and quite feminine.

BUT WAIT! THERE’S MORE!

20130905-145057.jpgYour Tied Short Skirt has an ADDED BONUS…

20130905-145147.jpgThat’s right, folks! EXTRA CARGO SPACE!

20130905-145206.jpgThe balloon style also makes it easy to carry around a few, extra, light items. How cool is that? (Um…don’t overdo it on the extra items. It can ruin the look to have heavier items weighing down the hem. I know this from personal – and a little bit embarrassing – experience.)

If you’d like to see some other examples of how I wear my sarong, please check out The Closet Countdown Page.

Thank you for stopping by! I hope you found the Sarong Series: Tied Short Skirt easy to follow. Please let me know if you have any questions in the comments below. I’m super happy to help!

Cheers,

G

10 comments

  1. This is great, and oooh….who doesn’t love a little ‘pocket’ to carry a very few (!) items in? This is oh, so clever. Thank you so much!:-)

    1. Love the hat in the profile pic!!! LOVE IT!

      I’m calm now. I’m glad you like the short one. It is pretty fun. Yep. Go get one. I’ll post more in the Sarong Series this week. 🙂

      1. You noticed! I took it this morning.

        You know I’m trying to figure out the best sarong-buying holiday destination and how soon we can get there? I mean, I could find one locally, but…

Comments are closed.