Style Spotlight: Gudrun Sjödén

20130902-060921.jpgWhile wandering around the web, I came across this gem of a blog/website: The Succulent Wife. SUPER cute graphics.

20130902-060948.jpgAnyway… I found this post about designer Gudrun Sjödén. I was enthralled with what I read and after I watched the attached video, I immediately went to Gudrun Sjödén’s website. Wow.

As you can tell from most of my wardrobe-related pictures, I’m a simple gal. Black mostly. Standard, flattering lines, stretchy, quick-dry fabrics. Not many frills. I have a set of “internal rules” I’ve created around my wardrobe that makes it very easy for me to coordinate, care for, and buy. Gudrun’s clothing breaks my “rules” and I still love it. All of it. Her designs are simple but beautifully complex. Some of the dresses just hang there. (No defined waist!) and yet, they are flattering for all shapes.

20130818-102447.jpg  20130902-060957.jpg

I’m sure Stacy and Clinton would not approve.

For me, Gudren’s designs are like visual poetry. It snags my heart in a big way. It is her art and her love for all women who wish to express themselves with their clothing. After all, don’t we do that anyway?

All along my life’s beautiful (and sometimes very difficult) path, I’ve been communicating to the world around me with my wardrobe. My lifestyle choices. How I feel about myself. How I’d like others to perceive me. And because I’m beginning to emerge from a self-focused life, I’m learning to listen to what others are saying with their wardrobe as well – intentionally or unintentionally.

20130902-060941.jpgGudrun Sjödén reminds me that it’s okay to keep exploring and growing – as an aspiring travel style blogger, as a woman, as an artist. She is such a beautiful woman.

Perhaps well-made, fun pieces that make one feel special and unique are just as important in a minimalist closet as a scarf that goes with everything. Now, if you can have both in one item… Well then, I’d call that a winner!

I’m off to add the Cotton/Rayon Blouse featured on this page to my wish list. 🙂

Do you have any clothing from Gudrun Sjödén? If yes, please tell me about it! I do so love personal clothing testimonies…

As always, I thank you for your time. It is my sincerest hope that my work brightens your day somehow and adds beauty to your life.

Cheers,
G

4 comments

  1. Hi Ginny! Thanks so much for the kind mention of my site. I’m so glad that you discovered Gudrun Sjoden through it. Quite the inspiring, colorful and feel-good brand, isn’t it? To answer your question: I do own a few pieces of Gudrun’s clothing, just recently acquired over the summer. The fabrics are beautiful, the knit cotton super soft and the fabrication impeccable, with the type of detail that is meant to surprise and delight the wearer. I want to be Gudrun when I grow up!

    Thanks for sharing her story and I look forward to following yours and quest for simplicity. Bravo!

    1. Hi Ann-Marie! I’m so glad you stopped by. Thank you for leaving a comment too. I’m quite honored. I’m looking forward to experiencing “the type of detail that is meant to surprise and delight the wearer”. Nothing like beautiful, quality pieces that last a long time. So rare these days in our quick-lived (often cheaply made) fashion trends. She seems to rise above all of that. Like your site :).

      Thanks for the props on my quest. I so treasure every bit of encouragement I gather along the way. Sincerely.

      Cheers to you, beautiful lady!

    1. They are fun! Comfy and feminine-looking too. Such beautiful science all around us – even in style. I hope the rest of your trip is fabulous. I know you are having a blast. I look forward to more insightful updates. 🙂

Comments are closed.