The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #9

20130901-134239.jpg

The end of The Closet Countdown is a little over a month away. While I’m ready for it to be over, I’m also very grateful for what I’ve learned so far. Not just about minimalism or simplifying my life. But about me. About how I work and what I value.

The main thing I’m learning is to cut myself some slack. It’s okay that my overalls can only be worn for work and not to a variety of events (though I am quite proud that they can be worn for a variety of work projects – even in the summer). It’s okay that my wardrobe is basically black – because I’m getting better at using my accessories in creative ways. It’s okay that my closet might not ever be reduced to only 100 items (I miss having a drawer full of athletic socks). I didn’t think this way before this experiment…

Last week’s update was a bit of a marathon to read. It is what it is. This one will be much shorter. If you have any questions about any of my clothing choices, please ask in the comments below. ๐Ÿ™‚

Just one note before I begin:

  • On Thursday, I wore my Merrell Mulberry Tiffin Cardigan and I could not find a link to add to it because they don’t make them anymore. I am a big Merrell fan but I’m getting a little frustrated that my favorites are so difficult to find. :((it’s available here in Lapis color only. Ugh.)

20130901-134255.jpg

Sunday (Day 56): Dickies Overalls, Mossimo Grey V Neck Short Sleeved Top (thrift store find), brown flip flops

Monday (Day 57):
All Day: Black Short Sleeved Shirt, Teal Skort, Merrell Black Barefoot Wonderglove (mary jane style) Shoes

Tuesday (Day 58):
Morning Run: Black Short Sleeved Shirt, Columbia Teal Skort, Merrell Barefoot Bare Access Arc Running Shoes
Rest of the Day: Black Short Sleeved Shirt, BCG Black Leggings, Sarong Tied As Over Skirt, Merrell Brown San Remo Sandals.

Wednesday (Day 59):
BCG Black Sleeveless Top, BCG Black Leggings, Merrell Brown San Remo Sandals

Thursday (Day 60):
Merrell Black Lily Sleeveless Dress, Merrell Mulberry Tiffin Cardigan, Merrell Brown San Remo Sandals

Friday (Day 61):
BCG Black V Neck Sleeveless Top, Dickies Overalls, Black Rubber Boots

Saturday (Day 62):
BCG Black Cami, BCG Black Leggings, Blue Overdress (Thrift Store Find), Merrell Brown San Remo Sandals

9 comments

  1. Hi Ginny, I especially like your Tuesday outfit, with the sarong tied over leggings. Also, I’m curious what your job is? There aren’t many workplaces where you can wear overalls. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I

    1. Thanks, Laura! I’m working on a “Sarong Series” of blog posts. Just need to crop and edit a few pics and it will be up soon. I love to wear the sarong that way because it stays out of my way while moving around my day.

      Which brings me to your question about my job…

      Before January, I was knee-deep in building a new, cognitive assessment company. (Detecting early signs of dementia or head trauma). But things went wrong. WAY wrong. And I’m home now, blessed with the opportunity to take stock of my life and decide what I want to be when I grow up. With the exception of some part-time nanny work and a few, small freelance writing gigs, I’m currently, officially “jobless”. For now. And honestly, I see where I am as a VERY good place to be.

      My friend owns a music school and I’ve worn the overalls to help her paint the exterior. I also wear them for yard work. I reread my post and I see how I should have added “manual labor” or something like that. “Work” in the way I put it seems like “day job”. Truthfully, I find powerwashing very rewarding. I would do it for a living – in my overalls of course – if I thought it would pay the bills. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I like the black short sleeved t (did I say that last week?). And the great scarf work is back!

    I also have a sudden urge to count the stuff in my wardrobe (I just gave away a pair of jeans!)

    1. Thanks! My black short-sleeved shirt is one of those “foundation” pieces I can wear with just about any of my skirts, shorts. or pants. Easy to dress up or down. I obviously dig it. ๐Ÿ™‚ Right now, I have no love for counting clothes. I do know that like most things, it helps to quantify so we can know where we stand. Sometimes, our perception of what we have and the reality of the actual count is way off. My mother counted all her shoes (scattered in different places like garden, vacation home, travel trailer, etc) and found that she had one hundred pairs. Crazy!

      Go you on the jeans giveawy! I love getting rid of stuff. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. Well, the jeans moment had a lot to do with finally accepting that I’m not going back to that size before they actually disintegrate on my hanger, so I have mixed feelings. But then that’s what happens, right?

        I did start counting my wardrobe but I suddenly lost the urge to finish the audit at the 50 mark. ๐Ÿ™‚

Comments are closed.