The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #6

20130811-073629.jpgForty-one days since The Closet Countdown began. Wow.

Here is what I think my updates have been reduced to:
Blah. Blah. Blah. I wore my Lily dress. Again. Blah. Blah. Blah. Here’s some more pictures.

Doing this experiment has certainly highlighted my love for my Merrell dresses. I mean, I knew I liked them but I had no idea. I also had no idea one could wear a dress so much and not get sick of it or have people say “Um…do you wear that dress all the time?” Perhaps it is the accessories I choose. Or maybe because I think it’s so darn cute, I feel cute in it and my confidence overshadows the monotony of the dress. Or maybe my friends are nice enough to keep their thoughts to themselves. No matter.

I wore my Emery dress for a birthday dinner on Wednesday and the black Lily dress to shop and lunch on Saturday. I wear my pink and black Lily dresses throughout the week too. It’s so easy to throw one on and be “instantly” dressed. If I need to do an activity like jump on the trampoline (oh, I mean if I want to join my five-year-old friends and transform into a super hero and battle the aliens who are trying to take over the world). I just put on a pair of leggings, cinch the bottom hem with my coconut tie thingy (note to self: must look up what those are called), and I’m good to battle the forces of evil.

Since Fridays have become pretty intensive yard work days, I continue to pat myself on the back for keeping the overalls. I wear them with a tank top and at the end of the day, my arms are a nice, golden brown. My legs are still pretty pale. Oh. Well! The dogs certainly don’t care. šŸ™‚

I supplemented my jacket and top with a hoodie and a sports bra.

There are a few items I haven’t worn as often as I thought I would. A black skirt I thought I loved and a blue dress.

See? Blah. Blah. Blah. Lily Dress. šŸ™‚

Thanks for sharing this space on my road to minimalism. Hope you don’t mind that I wear the same few dresses. Over and over again! Cheers dear reader! 20130811-073642.jpg20130811-073652.jpg

10 comments

  1. Hey, if you’ve got new ways to accessorise things, then keep with the blah blah. I suck at accessorising. I once tried to ask someone who was good at it for tips but she didn’t have any – she just did it and she didn’t seem to know how. But I think it is an essential of minimalist fashion.

    1. I agree that the ability to accessorize is an essential of minimalist fashion. And it gets tricky because it’s minimalism and that means less stuff – including accessories. For people who want to travel light – around the globe, down the road, or just around the house – that means no big boxes full of different scarves and necklaces and whatnot. I think the key is versatility. Like a scarf that “goes with” multiple items in a wardrobe color-wise that can be worn as a simple scarf to accent or a sash around the waist or a light wrap or perhaps a head covering or headband of sorts. Stuff like that.

      I have so much more that I want to write about a creative, minimalist wardrobe on this blog. If I thought it would be lucrative, I would write about it all day. I’m finding that I’m quite passionate about it (because I’ve learned so much!). So for now, it will come in short, happy spurts as time permits. I’ll put “minimalist accessories” on my list of subjects to cover soon.

      Thank you for your encouragement. I will continue to write about the blah blah blah.:)
      Cheers to you and thanks again!

      1. Good tips, and I’m prepared to wait til you have time to put the rest out one by one šŸ˜‰

        I do like to keep my wardrobe to a minimum because it makes moving easier and because it allows us to live in a smaller place more comfortably (and thus save money for travel that would otherwise be spent on rent!) but I really don’t have the knack for it and I’m tired of feeling shabby. Whereas the outfits you’ve shown us look great.

  2. I’m with B; I’d love to see more of the accessories. I might be willing to part with more staple pieces if I knew how to do more with fewer. Please share! šŸ™‚

    1. Hi Nancy! I will get some accessory information up soon, then.:) Please see my response to B above for some thoughts on that subject. I like the idea that you would be willing to part with more. I consider that a fire under my bum to get moving on those posts because I really do think less stuff is better – but only if you feel good about it and have a versatile, coordinated closet. That’s been my experience anyway.

      As always, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I’m very grateful. Cheers!

    1. Really Rose? That would be awesome! If you do, please tell me about it. I would love to know how it works for other women. (I’m refraining from “going off” how how much I love the dress at this point.) I’m certainly not trying to sell anything (though I do think Merrell should pay me to be their cheerleader) I just get so excited about the things I think are useful, beautiful, versatile, and low-maintenance that I want everyone to have something like it for themselves. It’s an uncontrollable enthusiasm. šŸ™‚

      Thanks so much for leaving a comment. You know I treasure every one. Cheers, Rose Who Rocks!

      1. AWESOME!!! That’s it. I’m going to do some research on affiliates. šŸ™‚

        Please tell me if you do and how it works for you. I’d love to have your feedback.

        I’m going to go do the happy dance now. In my Lily, of course!!!

Comments are closed.