The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #5

20130805-054950.jpg Thirty-five days down and sixty-five more to go on The Closet Countdown. It’s amazing to me how much can happen in a week. I feel like clothes help tell our story. That’s probably why we have closets full of items we don’t even wear any more.  Through this experiment, I find that one dress can now tell many stories. It’s my adventure closet. Because that’s how I see life. 🙂

The Lily was the star again this week. I wore it to an open mic night with my sarong* tied into a bag (I’m a nut when it comes to using that thing in about a hundred different ways…). I got compliments on the dress and the bag (sarong). Sweet! It amazes me because I wear that dress all the time (as I’m sure you’ve already gathered).

People are just not as focused on us as we are. How liberating!

Last week, I had dinner with friends and I wore my Merrell Lily Wrap Dress (soon to be featured in its own post). Same great material with sleeves and a wrap style.

20130805-055018.jpgI spent my entire Saturday wearing my incredibly versatile sarong as a dress (yep, the same one I used as a bag on open mic night). Cool, comfy cotton on a hot, summer day. The more I let go of my things, the easier it is for me to relax. Simplifying my life is not on my “someday maybe” list of things. It’s happening every day. So on days when I choose to kick back, I do it with all my heart. I feel like my brain load is lighter.

Tossed another item. A jacket. No big deal. I just realized that I seldom used it. Too bulky for a run and not water resistant. I’m down to 52 items. Now that I’m over my t-shirt withdrawals from last week and because I committed to run a half marathon in January (oh my!), I’m probably going to supplement with some active wear.

Another item is on its way out… Did you know that leggings can get runners? Like those terribly unattractive things you can get in pantyhose? Did you? I didn’t. Until Tuesday. I have a runner in my leggings. I confess that they are BCG brand (one of my favorite, inexpensive brands of athletic clothing found at Academy Sports) so they probably weren’t meant to last forever. Good thing I kept three pairs of leggings for my “bottoms” category. Still peeved but prepared to make the best of it by using that pair for home only and perhaps under a tunic/dress.

That’s all for this week. Thank you. Thank you. THANK YOU for taking the time to read this. It’s nice to have company along the journey. Cheers!

P.S. I added a few more pictures on The Closet Countdown Page.

*The sarong is pictured in a photo in my Mini Minimalism Experiment: Three Days One Dress.

One comment

  1. I am one of those chicks who buys a sarong from the cheesy fashion show at whatever tropical all-inclusive resort I’m vacationing at, because I’m awed by the gazillions of different ways the models wear it. And then…I proceed to wrap it (after-the-shower bath-towel style) over my bathing suit, and in no other way, because I have no clue how to do anything else with it.
    If you could post pics of the various ways you convert it to a dress, that would be fantastic!

Comments are closed.