Minimalism and Buried Treasure

20130801-101959.jpg

“It’s never too late – never too late to start over, never too late to be happy.”
– Jane Fonda

As I sift and dig through the past, I find that I’ve collected a lot of things I don’t need – physically and mentally. Junk. Weighing me down. Slowing me down. Since my last big epiphany regarding minimalism and mental clutter, I’ve learned to enjoy the process a little more. For the first time ever, I’m living an intentional life. I’m less afraid of what I’ll find because I know that on the other side is freedom.

Recently, I found two bits of treasure in my digging. Little things to a stranger’s eye. But worth so much in my heart. After years of setting them aside, they just got buried beneath my busy life. I don’t know what to do with them yet. I’ve moved on so far that they are dusty and old. I’m older. But I believe that it’s not too late to live your dreams.

Both are from a distant past. But both remind me that my simplicity quest is not about getting rid of everything. That’s actually pretty easy. The hard part is deciding what to keep. Sifting through junk and dreams to find out what matters most to me. Belly dance matters. Love of writing poetry matters. I found the hip scarves in an old, unlabeled box in a cabinet this morning. The love of poetry I found in a coffee shop last week. Unfinished dreams worth keeping…

(Because of this post I decided to go ahead and post the poem I wrote. Lauren’s is the only blog I follow that is about writing. She is sincere, encouraging, and seems to know what she’s talking about. She inspires me to be a better writer. So Lauren, if you read this, thank you…)

Open Mic Night

I’m mesmerized
by this woman’s voice.
Whatever it is that real singers
with real talent have,
she’s got it.

Everyone knows it
in this tiny coffee shop –
a room full of broken souls.

So clear, so rich
her art reaches out.
It’s so pure…

I will never sing like this woman.

After twelve years
of public school choir
and many more years
singing Chain of Fools in the shower
I still don’t have what she has.
Even if I hired a tutor,
reserved an auditorium,
and sang with all my heart,
I could not come close
to what she brings.

Something inside me is angry.

Envious.

Not because she can sing.
But because she doesn’t have to look
to find her magic special something.
She just opens her soul
and there it is.

And me?
I’m still searching.
While I write.
While I run.
While I see the perfect beauty
in the faces of the people around me.

And someday,
when I find it…

I won’t hold back.
I’ll sit on a stool
on life’s little stage
in some remote corner of the world;
room full of strangers.

I will open my soul.
Whatever I’ve found
will shine out
and light up the night.
A reminder to all
to keep searching…

It’s never too late
to find your voice.

7 comments

  1. I am SO HONORED by this post. Your poem is BEAUTIFUL! Thank you so much sharing this part of yourself. I was sort of questioning everything today, looking around me and saying “Where is the meaning?” And then I read this post and I knew: The stuff that is in this poem and this post, is the meaning. Thank you so so much for this. You really lifted me up today šŸ™‚

    1. I’m so glad you like it, Lauren! From what I can tell, you’re becoming quite popular out there in blog land so I was wondering if you would see this. SO glad you did! If you ever feel like you need an “lift in spirits” please leave a comment on my blog somewhere. I promise to deliver a smile right away. šŸ™‚

  2. Wow! I heard your voice loud and clear when I read this Ginny! I REALLY like this and would love to read more of your poems. And don’t you think that it is always easier to look at the work of others–be it art, or singing, or writing or ???? and decide that it is really good (or not so good) but we have such a difficult time being objective about our own work. I’m reading Brene Brown’s book about “Daring Greatly” and it is FULL of great comments about how we hold ourselves back…please DON”T hold yourself back… And what did Marianne Williamson say, “as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.” Go for it! ~Kathy

  3. Thank you, Kathy! When I first dipped a timid toe into writing, I felt poetry. It consumed me and it made me whole. Little by little, doubt by doubt, I chose to leave it behind. Not sure how. I guess it’s like our things. We keep adding on and adding on. The important stuff gets buried sometimes. Daring Greatly looks like an interesting read. I saw Brene Brown’s TED talk (don’t you just LOVE TED talks?) on vulnerability. I’d not heard of the Williamson quote. Funny, I get that when I’m around other, glowing folks but had not applied it to my own little light. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that I found my hip scarves around the same time that I “found” poetry. Belly dance and poetry are very liberating for me. I have to make myself vulnerable to get better at them.

    Thank you for your kind, wise comment. I appreciate it so much and will add the quote to my collection of favorites. Cheers!

Comments are closed.