The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #4

20130728-101007.jpgIt’s been four weeks since I started The Closet Countdown and the honeymoon phase is pretty much over. I still remain positive about trying it. Determined to see it through. A strange mix of optimism and stubbornness, I know. It’s working for me so far.

I miss t-shirts. I kept one of my man’s white v-neck Hanes shirts to sleep in or wear with shorts if I needed to. Love it. But I wish I had a few more. The tops I kept are versatile – I can wear most of them to work, work out, or go out. They are even comfy enough for just hanging out around the house. But I miss some of my girlie, fitted, soft cotton t-shirts. I may not get rid of t-shirts when this is over.

I also miss some of my other summer dresses. If you’ve read any of my previous updates, you know that my Lily Dress makes me very happy and is a GREAT summer dress. It’s everything I need in easy going clothing. But this week, I missed my vintage cotton dress. It’s a beautiful hassle: cotton fabric requires ironing, extra under clothing, and special washing instructions. But I still love it.

20130728-101048.jpgI think a big part of minimalism is discovering what you really need and what you don’t want to live without. There are things that hold us back and there are things that lift us up. I find joy in figuring out how that applies to each item in my closet – and my life.

On a different – and less whiny – note, I did not wear my Lily dress out this week (gasp. shock. suprise!). I did wear it to play outside with kiddos but for a change of pace, I went with another great travel gem: the Merrell Emery dress. Dinner at a friend’s house on Wednesday and then out and about to brunch and a movie on the weekend. I even slept in it because I was behind on laundry (and I don’t have any extra t-shirts). The fabric is so soft. I changed the look of the dress by adding a little thing I use to help keep my sarong in place. Not sure what it’s called but it’s made of coconut shell and has two holes. Changed the look of the dress and I loved it.

20130728-101106.jpg  20130728-101801.jpg

I found another shirt I do not love. I want to love it. I really do. But it’s not a Hell Yeah. So I had to let it go. I’m down to 53 items now. Might have to go grab a couple of t-shirts to supplement. 🙂

That’s it for this week. Thanks for reading, commenting, and encouraging. It helps keep me going. Cheers!

2 comments

  1. Hey Ginny! Good for you for sticking with this experiment. My confession would be that 99% of the time (at least during the summer) I live in shorts. I have about 10 pairs (far more than I need) but i love them. When I’m forced to put on pants of any sort I get kind of cranky…of course it helps that I live in the desert with 110+ degrees and EVERYONE dresses pretty casual. Oh, and it really helps that I can do my work on the computer at home. After traveling though I’m always reminded that we need far, far less clothes than we think we do…and hopefully, in the end we own just what makes us happy. Don’t give up–you can ALWAYS go back to the way you were before the experiment so stick with it if you can. ~Kathy P.S. Where in the world do you live? I think it has a huge influence on the type of clothes we wear and can get away with….

    1. Thank you, Kathy! Your encouragement means a lot to me. Cotton summer dresses (and the ironing and underclothes that go with them) can wait.

      I live in Texas. Nestled in the beautiful expanse of land between Houston, Austin, and College Station (home of Texas A&M University). Hot. Humid. Beautiful. Famous for Blue Bell ice ream, ideal spot for bluebonnet pictures, and beer drinking. 🙂 It’s summer nine months out of the year. And I totally love it.

Comments are closed.