A Dream Deferred…Is Liberating

20130714-164714.jpg

What happens to a dream deferred?

– Langston Hughes

I am itching to “make it” as a travel writer. By “make it” I mean make money (even though I know it’s not about the money). I go places. Maybe not across the world with one backpack and a laptop. But I love road trips and I see adventure everywhere. And I want to share it through writing and fun photos. Lately, I’ve been researching travel writers and I even set up a skeleton profile on Matador.com. But every time I went to the page I felt something was “off”. Something inside me just wasn’t flowing into the travel articles I was writing attempting to write – even as practice.

So I unplugged from my life, did a few sun salutations, and searched my soul to find that nagging feeling. In minutes, I found clarity. This is not the time for me to be a travel writer. Oh, I know…”you gotta reach for your dreams while you can” but how can I reach for some of them when I’m bogged down in an attic half full of junk? My biggest dream is to live a minimalist lifestyle so that I can spend more time spreading sunshine. I want to get better at being a loving person (I have so far to go on this one). I want to live my goals and “do my thing” without any nagging voices inside me.

I need minimalism for my soul as well as my surroundings.

I wrote “Travel Writer” on my list of someday projects, closed my browser tabs telling me how to be a better travel writer, and exhaled. It felt so good. Like I had been carrying extra weight in my life’s backpack that I had not noticed. I went through a box of giveaway stuff with new zeal and pleasure.

I don’t know what happens to a dream deferred. But I’m going to continue on my simplicity quest to find out. This is my dream for now. Thank you for letting me share it with you. Cheers!

6 comments

  1. Setting a goal aside shows great self-knowledge. If it’s right, you will return to it. I think it’s great that you are focused enough to only focus on what you need to focus on (if that makes sense!!).

    1. It makes sense to me! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement, Rose. It’s like what they say about love…let it go and if it comes back, it was meant to be. Who knows where my path may lead? “Knowing how way leads on to way” (God bless Robert Frost) I may never return to it. And that’s okay. Because whatever the path, I certainly won’t be hauling a bunch of stuff with me. 🙂

  2. I definitely get this. I’ve had to do a lot of emotional work to even get to my inner author. It takes courage to follow your heart one step at a time instead of jumping to the parts that maybe sound more exciting.And thanks for all of your encouragement on my blog by the way.
    I love what you are doing. I knew months ago that I should start letting go of old clutter, like I was getting rid of my emotional baggage. But it took deciding to go to Costa Rica to make it happen. So go you! Way to be where you are and make your life what it is now.

  3. Aww! Thanks! I’m going to take “Way to be where you are and make your life what it is now.” and write it on my heart. Instant encouragement. I have a lot of respect for your adventurous spirit, your honesty in your blog, and your writing style. I often wonder if the reason we blog is not only to write but to share the road for awhile. To remember that we are not alone on the path we’ve chosen. Thank you for the encouragement and the reminder. Cheers!

  4. Love this post! It’s all about the time for everything I guess and I like to think things will happen when we’re ready and things will happen to make us ready so we don’t have to rush it or force it. Love how you worked out your ‘biggest dream.’ I think priorities also come into it and again, priorites change with time so I think we can stop stressing and putting on the pressure about doing things we want to do but can’t do yet.

    1. Thanks so much! I think you are right. Priorities change. Mine certainly have. I just forget and get locked into “old dreams” from my younger self. :). I really appreciate your leaving a comment. I love how supportive other people who are simplifying (like you!) can be. Cheers!

Comments are closed.