The Closet Countdown: Weekly Update #1

20130708-114141.jpg

It’s been a week since I started The Closet Countdown. I decided to revive my running and do some part-time nanny work at the same time. Um. Should have included a few more sport items and probably could live without the “nice” dress I included “just in case” I needed it. Oh well. I’m learning.

I found a top I thought I loved but really I just kinda liked it because it coordinated with my other stuff. Decided to let it go. Now I’m living on 54 items. Figuring out how to “make it” on “just 54 items” feels very much like a first world problem.

My easy-grab and wear-anywhere favorite is my black Merrell Lily dress. By far. Hands down. No question about it. Hell, after this is over, I might just sell the rest of my clothes, buy more Lily dresses, and go from there. I wore it for a Fourth of July event as well as a casual memorial service. Even though I rave about the Lily, I do wish it had one thing: pockets. Perhaps with all the time I’ll make for myself by getting rid of stuff (including other, unfinished craft projects) I’ll make some modifications. Or why not dream big? Design my own line of minimalist travel clothing? First the junk, then we’ll see. 🙂

As I explore minimalism and figure out new ways to simplify my life, I re-learn over and over again that it’s about balance. Too much stuff is a pain to take care of. Too little can create different problems. Like needing to wash laundry more often. I hate running such a small load but I need my clothes to not smell like my morning run. Or the hours on the trampoline playing superhero robots. I don’t mind hand washing stuff in the shower but that’s kind of a pain too when I’m trying to make my shower time quicker. Like I said, first world problems…

It’s been a good week. I’m still glad I’m doing this because I’m learning quite a bit about myself and my choices.

As always, thanks for reading. I appreciate you and your time. Cheers!

P.S. If you want to read previous posts (and see a few pics) please check out The Closet Countdown page.

6 comments

  1. Hi Ginny…I know that i am one of your latest followers but I’ve read through your page and admire your writing and your commitment to minimalism. For that reason I want to nominate you for the “I Am Part Of A WordPress Family Award” you can see the details here: http://smartliving365.com/yay-ive-been-nominated-for-the-i-am-part-of-the-wordpress-family-award/ I already consider you part of my WordPress Family and look forward to following your blog far into the future… ~Kathy

    1. Thank you, Kathy! You are so sweet to include me in your list. I’m so honored. I’ll work on this soon. I currently in beautiful Texas Hill Country and my highest priority is to float down the river with a margarita. 🙂

      1. Thanks for understanding, Kathy. I had a blast. Cool, spring-fed river on a hot summer day (beverage in hand of course) and I’m a happy woman. I know you were there in spirit. 🙂 Cheers and thanks again for including me on your list!

  2. Hi Ginny,
    I’ve enjoyed reading about your progress in the last week – and 54 items is really impressive. And I thought I was minimalist! I actually don’t know how many items I have, but I would think it would be more than that 🙂 Good for you – I guess it forces you to think creatively about what to pair together next!!

    1. Thanks, Kate! It’s is easier in many ways to have fewer pieces to choose from – but it does take a little more time to think ahead and coordinate that’s for sure. Thanks for the encouragement. You are sweet to take the time to leave a comment. Cheers to you!

Comments are closed.