The Closet Countdown: T-6 Days

One week from today, The Closet Countdown will officially be on. No more deciding, no more wondering if it was a good idea. It’s like I’m going on a journey and I’m trying to figure out what clothes to take. I must consider the activities, location, season, weather. Planing is key to a successful journey on my simplicity quest. Especially when the quest is about minimalism.

I think I identified that “icky” feeling from last week. Fear. Seriously. When I search myself and try to understand my attachment to a dress (and the rest of my possessions, actually) it all boils down to fear. Fear of living without something I think I need. Fear of living without my many options. It offends my pride to admit it. And if I choose to be honest with myself (and you), that kind of feeling seems so shallow. Afraid of living without a dress? Oh please.

It’s not about the dress in the back of the closet. Or the shoes. Or the inherited dust collectors. I believe it’s about figuring out who we are and what we want out of life and deciding to live boldly with those decisions. I must push past the fear (and pride) to find out what I can learn; to find out who I can be. No matter how “icky” that makes me feel. No matter what I must admit about my “First World” hang ups and vulnerabilities.

I’m searching for ways to gain more time to do the things l love like spend time with loved ones, write, learn about photography, go hiking, dance, and one of my favorite activities in the world: encourage people. I don’t know for sure (because I’m still testing ideas and getting rid of things), but I believe I will have a richer journey if I don’t have to lug around and take care of extra stuff. I can’t prove it yet, but I’m working on it.

Thank you for stopping by and reading my words about pride and minimalism. Your time is a kindness that fills my heart with joy and gratitude. I wish you well on whatever journey you take.

5 comments

  1. Love it, G!!! You are an amazing writer!!!
    Hope even more people follow and learn!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Very insightful! I think when we’re able to name that emotion that is bothering us – that’s the only way we’re able to deal with it. And fear is insidious! It hides itself behind other things – like the dress at the back of the closet!

    Don’t know if you’ve checked out this blog – you will definately find more time!
    http://www.becomingminimalist.com/benefit-things-that-matter-most/

    On another note – you’re very encouraging – you should be a life coach!

    1. Thanks so much! For the affirmation, the link, and the encouragement. If humanity had a grand entrance (like at a hotel or something) I would love to stand at the door and smile and welcome everyone in. I could do that forever…

      Again, thank you for your encouragement. I might have to think about the life coach suggestion… 🙂

  3. “…I believe it’s about figuring out who we are and what we want out of life and deciding to live boldly with those decisions.” I got chills reading this. I will ponder this sentence as I hit the mountains today for a long overdue hike.

Comments are closed.