The Closet Countdown: T-10 Days

001

I could have just decided to start The Closet Countdown right away. Jumping right in stands as a great way to get started in something that seems a little intimidating. But I’ve never tried to live with only 49 articles of clothing before and 100 days makes the road ahead seem even longer… So I opted for a little calculation before I leap. I’m glad I did. It gives me a chance to pay attention to my daily and weekly needs in light of weekdays and weekends.  I’ve made my working list and set the “chosen” aside in my closet. I put everything except underclothes and socks on hangers. So nice to see it all hanging there when it’s time to get dressed. Might become one of my personal rules of minimalism down the road.

Here is my current list:
10. Tops
9. Pairs of shoes
8. Bottoms (skirts, leggings, skorts, shorts)
7. Pairs of underwear
6. Dresses
5. Bras
4. Light Sweaters/Jacket
3. Pairs of Socks
2. Sleep Items (big, comfy sleep shirt and some lounge pants)
1. Swimsuit

I might reduce the shoes. In the heat of summer, I pretty much live in sandals. I’m out of the corporate rat race for now so I probably won’t need my basic, black pumps. I’m wrestling with some questions about the things I keep “just in case”. Like a pair of three inch spike heels that I haven’t worn in at least a year, hurt my feet, and present quite the balance quandary for less-than-graceful individuals such as myself. Yet I flinch when I think about tucking them out of reach for 100 days. Crazy stuff along my minimalism path…

Went to snag my jeans to do yard work and realized they are part of the unchosen. Instead of rethinking my countdown list, I grabbed my Lily Sleeveless Dress and an apron, pulled on my rubber boots, and got to work. Not the same. I might rethink the deal but for now, I’ll stick to my original decision just to see if I can do it. That reminds me…I need to decide if I’m going to count my rubber boots and apron. Minimalism on seven acres is a whole different ballgame when it comes to stuff like that. (I see a post about rural minimalism in my future…)

For a treat, I’ve included a picture of my third bucket of pulled weeds. And my rubber boots, of course. 🙂

These are notes on my current experiment in minimalism titled The Closet Countdown. It begins on July 1. Feel free to join me in this path along my quest for simplicity!

