Best Tip for Clearing Closet Clutter: Hell Yeah!

“No more yes. It’s either HELL YEAH! or no. .” – Derek Sivers

If you don’t love it, don’t keep it. It really is that simple. But when you first embark on a simplicity quest of your own and you get to your closet, nothing seems simple. What about that dress you are going to fit into again someday? Or the skirt your mother bought you but the color looks terrible with your skin tone? Or that awesome, expensive designer shirt you found at the thrift store for only $2 that does not fit right? The shirt you wore to that special event that has a hole it in now?

To help you start out, check out this blog post by Derek Sivers (super cool guy who started CD Baby). He’s talking about the bigger picture of time commitments and hiring people but I apply it to my wardrobe (and life and minimalism) all the time. It makes culling and shopping so much easier.

Take an afternoon and go through all your clothes. Rate each item on a scale from 1 to 10 on how much you love it. Not just like it. LOVE it. It fits and flatters perfectly, is in good condition, and you love to wear it. Keep all of your 9s and 10s in your closet and put all of the 8s and lower on your bed or the floor. Now go look at your closet. It now contains only clothes you LOVE. The colors and fit and style that you want to represent to the world as you. Unique, beautiful you.

Here’s the fun part (and where I probably part ways with some other minimalists): do whatever you want to do with the stuff on the bed. Get rid of it. Hide it in you closet. Pack it up in boxes and hide it in your attic like I did. It’s your call. You don’t have to decide what to do with your dad’s old T-shirt today. You just need to see what it’s like to live with a wardrobe that you love for at lest 40 days.

You will be amazed how you feel about yourself and the world around you with this seemingly small change.

When you go shopping and you are in the dressing room with your pile of maybes, apply the Hell Yeah principle. Even if the price is amazing and you’ve always wanted one. If it doesn’t make you say Hell Yeah! about it when it’s on your body, forget it. There will be other bargains. Other treasures along the way that you will wear and wear with pride because you love everything about it.

Slowly. Very slowly, I am applying Hell Yeah! to other areas in my life due to the fact that it works so well in my closet. It feels good to have even a little bit of control and contentment in a life. It’s addicting and I want more of a Hell Yeah! life.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I wish you an amazing, Hell Yeah! journey…

PS Use the above tip to help you decide what to keep for The Closet Countdown. 🙂

6 comments

  1. Interesting. I’m wondering how this would apply to, say, the cotton tops I wear every day. They wouldn’t get a “hell yeah,” but I do wear them every day. And they don’t get the “blah,” that my everyday wear got a year ago. So that’s progress anyway. 😉

    1. Oh, I think you are doing just fine, Laura! I consider your wardrobe and your blog a “hell yeah”. 🙂 I’m learning that sometimes, we have to keep the “pretty greats” to use as a place marker until we can find a “hell yeah” replacement. Your cotton shirts are super cute. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I really appreciate it. Cheers!

Comments are closed.