Minimalism + Cleaning = Awesome

In my teenage years, I was a clutter junkie. My poor carpet suffocated beneath a thick layer of random clutter and dirt. I hated cleaning and I certainly hated putting away all my stuff. Oh how adulthood changes us. The kids in my life don’t believe me when I say I am a recovering slob.

I found a surprise treasure along my path to simplicity. Minimalism makes it easier to to clean. I read about how nice it is to be able to take better care of things because you have less of them. I missed the part where that had to do with the floor.

Now I’m addicted to vacuuming. In the one room where I have focused my simplifying efforts, the carpet almost sparkles. It helps that I love my Dyson vacuum cleaner but I just can’t get over how much floor space I easily clean. Joy. Pure joy.

The less stuff I have, the less furniture I need to store the stuff. The less furniture I have, the less time it takes to clean it. Dusting is so much easier on the surfaces I have completely decluttered. I’ve simplified my cleaning products so it’s usually just a quick grab and go and I can make one room gleam with beauty in a matter of minutes. This is not true for all the rooms in my home but I’m getting there.

The road I chose to get this far was pretty long and winding. But it was worth it. Having one room that is easy to clean encourages and inspires me to finish the job and expand my hard-earned skills into other areas.

I say it all the time but it really is the little things that make a big difference.

If you are on your own simplicity quest, don’t give up. Do what works for you to stay on the road. If you do, you might find unintended treasures along the way. Like the joy of vacuuming. 🙂

