It Gets Easier

Truth? I still have stuff in the attic from when I jammed it all up there two years ago. Seriously. My goal for this year is to deal with the rest of it. In strange spurts of “extreme minimalism” I have taken even more stuff up there. But over time, a little voice in my head reminds me that I’m not actually living with less if it’s all just hidden. I’m pretty sure it’s like telling my parents my room is clean when all I really did was throw it all in the closet. It’s a nice, temporary fix but overall, it’s out of integrity with what I want to present as my life.

My favorite thing about going up there and dragging down a box or two of stuff is how much easier it has gotten to just let go of stuff. Logic make itself heard as it reminds me that I haven’t used the stuff in two years!

As I’ve experimented with moving my junk from one place to another, I’ve learned to train my brain to look at my things in new ways. Here are some questions I ask myself when trying to decide if I should get rid of something:

    1. Do I love this?
    2. Is it useful?
    3. Do I think it adds beauty to my life?
    4. Is it easily replaced?
    5. Would anyone know what it is/care about it after I’m gone?
    6. How much time do I think is required to take care of this item?
    7. If I keep it, where will I put it?
    8. Do I already have one?
    9. Would it someone else love to have it?

(I so wanted to have 10 questions but I’m working on reducing my perfectionism so there it is)

At first, I found it difficult to even think about these questions. But over time – a lot of time actually – it got easier to ask and answer them. When I’m feeling “funky” I like to go into a drawer and find things to get rid of because it’s soothing to me to lighten my load. I still struggle with sentimental items but I don’t feel so overwhelmed by the ones I’ve chosen to keep. Practice is the key. Repetition and pushing through the more difficult questions has helped me along.

It’s not all easy. But it is easier. I feel it. I know it. And I get to experience the joy of a life of less things and more time for the people I love. Every time I put something into my “give away” box that feeling comes to me. The more I do it, the more I feel it.

That’s my encouragement to you today, dear reader/friend. The more you get rid of your things, the easier it gets. Not right away and not for all things. But it does get easier. If you are on your own quest for simplicity, don’t give up. You’ll get stronger if you keep going.

As always, I thank you from the bottom of my little heart that you take the time to read this. Whoever you are. Wherever you are.. :o)

 

 

4 comments

  1. I loved that you stopped at 9 things. It is hard to let things go, especially if you have the space to keep them. At first you declutter because you have no room but then later you get rid of things because they take up the space that you need in order to breathe. Good luck!

    1. Oh Katy! I’m so sorry I missed this comment…in JUNE! Oops! Thanks for the pat on the back for the 9 things. That was pretty difficult for me to do. “…because they take up the space you need in order to breathe.” I like that. Getting rid of things after the initial purge does feel like clearing the air. Please forgive me for responding so late and thank you very much for leaving a comment. Cheers!

  2. Here, here! My partner worries though even when I just get rid of my own unwanted ‘stuff’, that I will regret something. I’m trying to convince him that that is my lesson to learn should it happen, and that out of the many, any visits to charity shops with bags and bags of stuff, I can barely remember any of what I have rehomed to others!

    1. I know how that goes too! I have some people in my life who tell me that I might regret getting rid of so much stuff. Honestly, I do have a few things I wish I would have saved. Only a few. And they are replaceable. Expensive. But replaceable. And I own that. Because, like you, it’s my lesson to learn. But there is so much more that I don’t miss. Instead of taking care of huge piles of stuff, I’m doing things I love so much more. No time in all my life adventures to even wonder about the stuff I’ve forgotten about already! Plus, my few regrets have taught me that I need to take my time when it comes to things I’m undecided about. To not rush the process until I’ve worked out why I’m undecided. Thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate the comment. Cheers to you and good luck in lightening your load. 🙂

Comments are closed.