It Has Begun

Well, I did it. I packed up most of my stuff and now I am officially on my journey. It was hard work. I have a lot of junk up in the attic right now. But that’s okay. For the rest of the year, I’m just not going to let it bother me. I’m on vacation from my things. They will still be there when I get back but I hope that when I do, I will see them differently.

I kept telling myself that the investment I was making with my time and energy was going to pay off big time throughout the coming year.

It’s only Day 2 and I can see how that is true. Getting dressed in the morning is as easy as ever. I have a few options (most of them brown) and so far, I’m doing all right. ( Good thing I love brown).  I’ve also become quite the minimalist when it comes to personal hygiene so my personal care time has been reduced as well.

Maybe I’ll publish a blog about my old/new obsession with baking soda someday…

I have no idea what this blog will look like. As a writer, I have lots of experience with a piece (fiction and non-fiction) that does not look like what I thought it would. But the not knowing is part of this adventure – this quest – to find out who I am without all my stuff.

While putting my books in boxes and deciding which essential oils I could live without for a year, I realized something: I’m a binge buyer. I don’t know if  that is an actual, usable term but it’s what I do. When I get excited about something (knitting, quilting, massage – to name a few) I want to go buy all the best and latest do dads and thingymabobbers to with it. All useful tools, of course.

I’m a book worm so I have to have at least one (if not several) on the subject. Then there’s the catalogs that come with them. Oh, and the options of colors and ways to personalize even the plainest knitting needle. So I have to have it all. And most of the time, most of it ends up in a craft closet, or storage bin. Ugh.

For a little while, it feels so good to have the new things to go with my new passion. I have grand visions of completed projects that are beautiful, adored, and earth-friendly. I design my little etsy shop in my head while I surf the net looking for other enthusiasts.

But the magic wears off and I have to choose to push forward without new stuff (because hey, how many knitting needles do you really need if you can only knit a scarf?) or find a new passion. So, I find a new passion.

For two days, I have been free from the burden of unfinished projects. Evidence of my binge buying is up and away. Not buried. Not burned. Just not in my face. And I get to focus on my new passion: me and my family. I think it’s who we are without our things that matters most. Who we are to ourselves and who we are to the people we live with and count as important. For me, there’s other things too. Like writing. And making up songs. And playing Rat-A-Tat Cat with my favorite six-year-old…

